Immanuel’s Veins, a review

I was given an Advanced copy to read and write an endorsement for the book, Immanuel’s Veins. This is what I turned in.

I really enjoyed Immanuel’s Vein’s by Ted Dekker. I read the entire book in two days, which is unusually fast for me. I was captivated to find out how this story of love and redemption, and small dose of betrayal, would end. While the book sounded like a Dekker book it was also completely new. Dekker, unlike any other fiction author I have read, can take a theme and magnify it through story and IV only expounds upon this. I highly recommend this to any fiction lover.

–Travis Clarke, 25, Waco,  George W. Truett Seminary Student

(I have been told my endorsement is in the front of the book in a slightly edited form, for length I guess maybe some tone.)

***Possible spoilers included here on out.*** I obviously left in the positive aspects of the book for my endorsement and fully stand behind them, though there were one or two hiccups in my opinion, but not enough for me to not write a positive endorsement. So let me explain my endorsement in full and add a little about the minor hiccups.

As all his other books, the theme is the driving force of the story and not necessarily the story itself, which is why I can read his books and not think he has already done this, FBI type guy falls for the girl.

For the sounding like a Dekker but being new, deals with the fact that this is Dekker’s first first person book. I do not read many first person fiction stories so this was new for me, I read Demon: A Memoir by Tosca Lee a little later. I struggle a little with this part, mostly I think from my lack of reading these type books. However, I was able to work through that, and think that is more of a personal thing than a knock against the book. Again I found the theme to be the driving force and kept me in the story.

Hiccup: As the last book for Thomas Nelson, Ted I think wanted to wrap up any open doors he created in his large arching Circle trilogy connecting stories (i.e. The Circle series, and Books of History series). So in this book he does, by explaining the consequence of Alucard entering “our world” from the circle series. A careful reader will realize that Alucard is just Dracula spelled backwards and is Dekker’s explanation of vampires and works. However I think with the Twilight saga and True Blood the vampire angle is over flooded and need not a Christian spin. I spent a good portion of the book hoping this was not what was being alluded to, but it was. I can live with it, and if it were not for the other vampire stories floating around now, it would have been perfectly fine. Again, Dekker’s take on vampires is great I just worry about how it will play out with the other stories also being popular.

So overall I really liked this book and thus gave it a positive endorsement. As one can see I gave it four stars, took one away for the story not being as original as I would like. But again the theme is more important in Dekker’s books than the story itself.

One Response to Immanuel’s Veins, a review

  1. tracysbooknook says:

    I haven’t read a lot of Ted Dekker before and I would have to say that Immanuel’s Veins was the best book that I didn’t like.

    The writing is really quite superb: descriptive language, active plot, interesting characters all worked together. It was just all the lust, blood, and even more blood that just smothered me.

    I wrote a review of this book on my own blog here:
    http://www.tracysbooknook.com

    -Tracy

Leave a Reply

