Best Pictures 2000’s

2000 – Gladiator won the award. I enjoy Gladiator but I think Traffic is a better film.

2001 – A Beautiful Mind won the award. The Academy knew you could not get enough of Russell Crowe so his film won again.

2002 – Chicago won the award. This is probably the best musical I have seen, the musical numbers actually advance and tell the story instead of pause it. With that said I would have picked The Pianist.

2003 – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King won the award. This is a hard year for me as I also really like Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World.

2004 – Million Dollar Baby won the award. This is a great film but so is Finding Neverland.

2005 – Crash won the award. I prefer Good Night, and Good Luck to Crash, as Traffic was the original film worthy of winning for this type of story telling.

2006 – The Departed won the award. Again how can I choose between The Departed, Letters from Iwo Jima and Little Miss Sunshine.

2007 – No Country for Old Men won the award. I enjoy Coen Brothers films but this was not their best. Juno or There Will Be Blood are better.

2008 – Slumdog Millionaire won the award. This seemed like a down year.

2009 – The Hurt Locker won the award. I prefer Up and Inglorious Basterds, but as long as Avatar did not win it did not matter. Avatar like Titanic is way over rated, Avatar even more so that Titanic. Cameron had the script for over ten years and this is what we get, no plot development.

The Decade overall – This was a strong decade as well second best (through 2009), again I have seen a lot of the other films and these are geared more toward my generation.

To see all the prior decades click here

Leave a Reply

