Best Pictures 1990’s

1990 – Dances with Wolves won the award. I think this film could have been condensed to make it more enjoyable.

1991 – The Silence of the Lambs won the award. This film is great almost as good as the book, a tall order. The film closest to being a horror film to win.

1992 – Unforgiven won the award. I did not enjoy this film. I prefer A Few Good Men to Unforgiven.

1993 – Schindler’s List won the award. This film is too moving to not have won.

1994 – Forrest Gump won the award. This was a strong year with Pulp Fiction and The Shawshank Redemption also being nominated. But all I can say is “Run Forrest Run.”

1995 – Braveheart won the award. Who needs historical accuracy (Apollo 13) when you can add more blood and guts.

1996 – The English Patient won the award. I prefer Fargo.

1997 – Titanic won the award. In a strong year a boring movie won the award. L.A. Confidential, Good Will Hunting, and As Good as It Gets are all much better. Popularity (I do not why how it was) and production cost won over acting, script, and quality.

1998 – Shakespeare in Love won the award. Another strong year. I personally would have picked Life is Beautiful, even though Saving Private Ryan was great as well.

1999 – American Beauty won the award. The third strong year in a row. I cannot decide if I would pick American Beauty, The Green Mile, or The Sixth Sense.

The Decade overall – This decade ended really strong, it helps I have seen many of these films. I would venture to say this is probably the strongest decade of them all (through 2009).

Tomorrow the last of the winners will be posted, the 2000’s. To see all the prior decades click here

Leave a Reply

