Best Pictures 1960’s

1960 – The Apartment won the Award. I found this movie quite funny.

1961 – West Side Story won the award. For a musical this movie was made bad. However, this story is really just Romero and Juliet.

1962 – Lawrence of Arabia won the award. I would have really enjoyed this movie if it was two movies instead of one. To Kill a Mockingbird was much better because it was coherent and Gregory Peck was outstanding.

1963 – Tom Jones won the award. This is probably the most random movie to win the award. I would not be surprised if Monty Python’s Flying Circus was inspired by this movie. I also really enjoyed How the West was Won.

1964 – My Fair Lady won the award. If you removed the musical numbers from this film I would have really enjoyed it. Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb I think was a much better film.

1965 – The Sound of Music won the award. Again if you removed the musical numbers I would have really enjoyed this film.

1966 – A Man for All Seasons won the award This film seemed more like a play than a movie. While the film was not bad, it did not seem put together very well.

1967 – In the Heat of the Night won the award. This was a great movie which was unfortunate for Guess Who Coming to Dinner and The Graduate, I believe both of these could have won as well.

1968 – Oliver won the award. This must have been the decade of musical.

1969 – Midnight Cowboy won the award. This is by far the worst movie on the list of winners. I thought Dustin Hoffman did a great job in this film, however, the back story was not told well and I hated the subject matter. Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid is a far superior film and one of my favorite of all time.

The Decade overall – I thought this decade started off strong but finished off weak, except for 1967, one of the strongest years.

Check out the previous ones here, and check back tomorrow for the 1970’s

Leave a Reply

